Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

Walk or Run? June 29, 2010

Filed under: Craft,Geek — geekchef @ 3:39 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been planning on buying an embroidery machine for a few months now. I’ve been using the one at the Techshop and it is slowly driving me insane. It’s hard to make enough time and due to the excessive use, it’s often out of order. No good.

The original plan was to take part of the money from the deposit on my old apartment and buy the same or a similar machine as the one I’ve been using. But while researching prices and features I came across the Janome MB4, a super awesome semi-industrial embroidery machine. It is super sexy, in that automated embroidery machine kind of way. It does everything I want it to do, better than all the other machines I’ve been looking at. But, and this is a big but, it is 4 times more money.

Now I thought about it a lot: compared the upfront cost with it’s resale value, the time savings and efficiency, and figured it was very possible that this machine would eventually pay for itself. But, I just don’t have that kind of money.

So with a little sanity check from my mom, I decided to give it a year. I’ll buy the best one I can within the price range I afforded myself. In a year if I’m still going strong and have made/sold enough badges and whatnot to sustain this project, I’ll see about getting the big gun.

So please continue to buy my stuff, tell your science-y friends about the badges and keep giving me all your wonderful support. I really love making things, I’d really love to be able to make this an actual living one day. But at least, I’d like to continue breaking even on a larger scale. 😀

 

3 Responses to “Walk or Run?”

  1. nicktea Says:

    Get the beastly looking one.

    • judytuna Says:

      Yeah, I’m rooting for you to get the devil one, too. It’s a business investment… right? So you can … uh … write it off in taxes, right? Riiiiighhhhhhttttttttt????

      I’m glad that you have your mom for sanity checks, because you sure can’t rely on us =(

  2. […] by the buck-a-day guy and attempting to save for my shiny new toy, I decided to pay more attention to my spending. I was happy to find out coupons have gone new […]


Leave a Reply

