Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

Bacon is a vegetable April 20, 2009

Filed under: Food — geekchef @ 10:37 am
Tags: , , , ,

No it’s not, but is has a special place on the food pyramid in my heart.

Saturday I participated in an “Iron Chef” type competition, with the secret ingredient being apple. I knew that the key to first place was bacon… Here is the appetizer I entered, enjoy

Bacon Wrapped Apples

2 Apples cored and sliced in wedges
1 cup rum
1/2 cup amaretto
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla
1lb bacon
8 oz. feta cheese

Mix rum, amaretto, cinnamon, sugar and vanilla into a wide pot. Place apples in and let soak for a few min, then heat pot and cook off some of the alcohol. Cook for about 10 min. Remove apples and cool. Preheat over to 500.

Take an apple slice, press some feta along the side and wrap a slice of bacon around the apple, pinning the edge with a toothpick.

Place the wrapped bacon in a pan and bake for 15min or until bacon is cooked, then broil for 5 min to crisp the bacon.

 

One Response to “Bacon is a vegetable”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I have been thinking about bacon wrapped apples for some time. I wanted to add a white cheese. this looks beautiful and savory!


Leave a Reply

