Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

C is for Cookie March 26, 2009

Filed under: Food — geekchef @ 4:53 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I was in the mood to bake last night. Which is a little rare for me, I’m more of a chef than a baker. I am happy with these cookies, so I’m passing on the recipe. Enjoy!

Anise Seed Cookies

1 1/2 cups butter, softened
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon anise (or fennel, same thing) seeds
1 teaspoon anise extract

Cream butter and sugar together then add eggs and extracts and anise seeds. Then add remaining ingredients and fold together until mixed. Cover bowl and refrigerate at least an hour. If you are looking for uniform cookies try pouring the batter onto a piece of parchment or wax paper and wrap it up in a tube shape. When it’s set you can slice it into shape.

I baked mine at 400 degrees for about 12 min, but each oven is slightly different. SO I hesitate to instruct any further that bake until golden.

I glazed the cookies with a powdered sugar and milk paste and sprinkled goodies on them. They are pretty good by itself, but more sugar is always better 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

