Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

Garlic and Butter December 19, 2008

Filed under: Food — geekchef @ 11:04 am
Tags: , , ,

Is there anything better?
A while ago I discovered the 99 Ranch Market near my house. This discovery has at least doubled my Asian food output – and input, om nom nom 🙂

Recently they had live crabs on sale for $3 a pound. You can imagine how difficult it was for me NOT to have crab for dinner every night. The other night, I treated myself to roasted crab and garlic noodles and here is the recipe for the noodles:

Garlic Noodles

8 cloves garlic – minced
1 stick of butter
vermicelli style egg noodles (or regular vermicelli) – enough for 4 servings
1 tablespoon oyster sauce

Start the water for the noodles.

Soak the minced garlic in water for a few min while the butter melts in a pot, when the butter is mostly melted drain and throw in the garlic. Let cook slowly for a while, stirring occasionally, until it really starts smelling good, add the oyster sauce and stir until mixed.

Once the pasta is al dente, drain and set aside – pouring some of the pasta water into the garlic butter. Toss in the noodles and season with salt and pepper and garnish with chopped cilantro or green onion.

 

Leave a Reply

