Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

Planet Organics: the aftermath September 6, 2007

Filed under: Food — geekchef @ 10:53 am

I don’t know if it was a blessing or a curse, but I received three times the amount of food that I was expecting on my first delivery. There was some kind of glitch and the computer listed each item three times and the packing people didn’t question it. Brilliant.

So when two, very packed cases were delivered to my doorstep, I divvied it up and left care packages on my neighbors’ doors. Hopefully they will remember my kindness next time I run out of sugar or lock myself out of the building while taking out the trash, again.

With my portion I made pickled beets, which are fantastic. I am trying not to eat them by the handful, but it’s hard. I had some in my turkey and cheese sandwich yesterday – it was awesome.

I also made the Kale and Sausage soup, again awesome. I made a bunch and froze the leftovers into single portions. I’ve been doing that a lot lately. Mostly because I have not figured out how to scale my recipes down to single servings, but it makes great lunchtime foodage.

I’m not sure if there were any other meals worth reporting, most of the produce was so tasty that I ate it raw or with little prep. Nothing exciting there, unless you ask my tummy.

 

Leave a Reply

