Geek Chef

I cook, I talk, I geek

Sunday Dinner August 21, 2007

Filed under: Food — geekchef @ 11:42 am

I had my mom and sister over for Sunday dinner, this was the first time my mom saw my new place and the first time my sister has seen it in a finished state.

I had a craving for morel mushrooms ever since I had a lamb in morel sauce at the Kuleto Ranch. Don’t ask me how I managed to sing an invite to dine at the family ranch…

So, since I am a little afraid of working with lamb and my mom is a vegetarian – I made stuffed salmon in morel vinaigrette. And MAN, was it good?!?

Let me just say, it didn’t last long enough to take a photo of it.

Here is the recipe (sans stuffing, I have no idea proportions – it was risotto and crabmeat if that helps):

Salmon with Morel Vinaigrette

.5 – 2 ounces dried morel mushrooms, depending on how much you are willing to spend. I used .5 and it was fine.
1/4 cup Champagne vinegar
1/2 small shallot, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh parsley leaves
4 (8-ounce) wild salmon fillets
Olive oil
Salt and pepper

Place morels in a bowl and cover with boiling water. Let sit until soft, about 30 minutes, then drain, reserving liquid, and coarsely chop.
Whisk together vinegar, shallot, mustard and salt and pepper in a medium bowl. Slowly whisk in the olive oil until emulsified. Use a little of the morel soaking liquid to thin, if needed. Fold in the mushrooms and parsley

Brush salmon on both sides with oil and season with salt and pepper. Pour a little of the dressing on the bottom of the pan and place the salmon on top, bake (or grill if you like) until the color has changes but still soft, immediately drizzle with the rest of the morel vinaigrette and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

